Email: committeeservices@horsham.gov.uk

Direct line: 01403 215465



Annual Council Meeting

Wednesday, 25th May, 2016 at 6.00 pm Conference Room, Parkside, Chart Way, Horsham

To: All Members of the Council

(Please note that prayers will be taken by Father David Bouskill, Vicar of Holy Trinity, Horsham before the meeting commences)

You are summoned to the meeting to transact the following business

Tom Crowley Chief Executive

Agenda

- 1. Apologies for absence
- 2. To elect a Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year
- 3. To move a vote of thanks to the retiring Chairman
- 4. To appoint a Vice-Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year
- 5. To receive any announcements from the Chairman of the Council or the Chief Executive
- 6. To appoint the Overview and Scrutiny Committee of the Council for the year (15 Members of the Council)
 - (Note: 1. The Overview and Scrutiny Committee has the functions set out in Article 7 and Part 3B of the Council's Constitution.
 - 2. Cabinet members must not be members of Overview and Scrutiny Committees.
 - 3. Political balance is determined by reference to the political balance on the Council as a whole.)
- 7. Constitution of the Development Management and Employment Committees

Pursuant to the provisions of Section 17 (1) of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, to approve arrangements for the Development Management Committees and the Employment Committee to be constituted as set out in 8 and 9(b) below respectively rather than political balance

8. To appoint the Development Management Committees of the Council for the year, as follows:

- (a) Development Management (North) Committee
 All Ward Members for the area of the Committee, namely: Horsham
 (unparished area) and the parishes of Broadbridge Heath, Colgate,
 Itchingfield, Lower Beeding, North Horsham, Nuthurst, Rudgwick,
 Rusper, Slinfold, Southwater and Warnham together with the Cabinet
 Member with responsibility for Planning and Development and the
 Chairman of the Development Management (South) Committee.
- (b) Development Management (South) Committee
 All Ward Members for the area of the Committee, namely: the parishes
 of Amberley, Ashington, Ashurst, Billingshurst, Bramber, Coldwaltham,
 Cowfold, Henfield, Parham, Pulborough, Shermanbury, Shipley,
 Steyning, Storrington & Sullington, Thakeham, Upper Beeding,
 Washington, West Chiltington, West Grinstead, Wiston and
 Woodmancote together with the Cabinet Member with responsibility for
 Planning and Development and the Chairman of the Development
 Management (North) Committee.

9. To appoint the following ordinary Committees of the Council for the year:

- (a) Accounts, Audit & Governance Committee 7 Members of the Council
- (b) Employment Committee 3 Members of the Council (Chairman of Personnel Committee, Leader of the Council, Leader of the Minority Group plus a substitute pool of five additional Members (3 Conservative and 2 Liberal Democrat))
- (c) Licensing Committee 15 Members of the Council
- (d) Personnel Committee15 Members of the Council (including the Member of the Cabinet having responsibility for staffing)
- (e) Standards Committee
 7 Members of the Council (including the Chairman of the Council and 1 member of the Cabinet)
 (Note: Plus two Parish Council Representatives nominated by the Horsham Association of Local Councils and two independent persons already co-opted)

(Note: Political balance on ordinary committees is calculated by reference to the aggregate number of seats on all ordinary committees.)

10. To appoint Members to the following Joint Committees:

- (a) Henfield Commons Joint Committee (3 Members of the Council)
 (Note: The two Members for the Henfield Ward and one Member from the Bramber, Upper Beeding & Woodmancote Ward)
- (b) CenSus Joint Committee 2 Cabinet Members

- 11. To appoint Members to the Cabinet Members' Policy Development Advisory Groups and agree their programme of meetings for the year
- 12. Ordinary meetings of the Council
 - (a) To confirm the programme of ordinary meetings of the Council for the year, as follows:

Wednesday 29th June 2016
Wednesday 7th September 2016
Wednesday 19th October 2016
Wednesday 7th December 2016
Wednesday 15th February 2017
Wednesday 26th April 2017
Wednesday 24th May 2017 (Annual Meeting)

(b) To agree the time of ordinary meetings of the Council for the year